Children’s Meditations In My Heart Book Review + Giveaway.

Children’s Meditations In My Heart Book Review + Giveaway.

Mental health is a regular topic of discussion here at Just The Three Of Us. I mostly talk about my own mental health, but I have also written about my daughter Mia’s mental health too.

Recently I published a list of phrases to help calm an anxious child.

Mindfulness and the art of meditation are something I’ve often thought about exploring in a bid to help myself. However I hadn’t considered it for my children.

Mindfulness is the psychological process of bringing one’s attention to experiences occurring in the present moment. This can be developed through the practice of meditation and other training.

I recently received a copy of The Children’s Meditations In my heart to read to Mia and Theo. This book is written by Danish author Gitte Winter Graugaard.

It promises to help children to fall asleep in minutes – something my children are incapable of achieving, so I was really keen to try it out!

The Children’s Meditations In my heart is beautifully illustrated with calming colours and images throughout. There are four different meditations  for you to read with your child/children all of which are wonderfully scripted and incredibly heartfelt.

I particularly like the way the book focuses on the love between parent and child throughout and the visualizations which helped the children, especially Mia, to let go of the worries and stresses of the day.

Theo (4) is just a little too young to fully grasp the concept of being still and ‘in the moment’, but he does find comfort in me reading The Children’s Meditations In my heart to him when he’s having a tough day.

Mia (6) has definitely felt the benefit of having some ‘calm time’. She chooses this book every time its her turn to choose the bedtime story. I think the book gives her reassurance and I myself find spending that time with my children incredibly calming.

The Children’s Meditations In my heart is available from Amazon priced at £11.36 for a paperback copy and is available in three languages – English, Danish and Spanish.

I have one copy of The Children’s Meditations In my heart to give away to one lucky reader! Simply enter via the gleam app below. Giveaway ends 20/2/2018 at 11am. Any entrants found to entering under multiple personas will be disqualified.

Children’s Meditations in My Heart Book Giveaway

Just The Three Of Us is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme. This is an affiliate advertising programme designed to allow sites to earn advertising fees by linking to Amazon. This post includes affiliate links.

We were kindly gifted this book in return for an honest review.

Pin it!
Children's Meditations In My Heart book review.

 

 

SuperLucky Blog Giveaway Linky: the UK's biggest list of blog giveaways

 

Follow:

48 Comments

  1. Angela Treadway
    23/01/2018 / 11:58

    A nice warm cup of hot chocolate, a couple of biscuits and a nice story is usually enough to send my sons off to sleep x

  2. lesley renshaw
    23/01/2018 / 13:04

    I have awful trouble sleeping and getting mt daughter to sleep but over the last 6 months have started listening to guided meditation which helps immensely. It’s made a massive impact on our lives and would recommend it to anyone x

  3. Chris Andrews
    23/01/2018 / 13:55

    What methods do you use to make bedtime calm and stress free? . . . . .a calm and orderly routine

  4. Karen Barrett
    23/01/2018 / 16:01

    Being consistent and having a good routine

  5. Tracy K Nixon
    23/01/2018 / 16:05

    A regular routine, bath, warm drink, story then bed x

  6. ashleigh allan
    23/01/2018 / 16:12

    reading a book

  7. Nicola Tayler
    23/01/2018 / 18:21

    Consistency – bath, story and bed at the same time (usually) each day

  8. MARGARET GALLAGHER
    23/01/2018 / 20:36

    Mindfulness clearing my day of the clutter – reading and a regular bed time

  9. Kirsty Fox
    23/01/2018 / 22:08

    We listen to gentle music and have a lovely cuddle before bed.

  10. Dean T
    24/01/2018 / 02:58

    Turn on the electic blanket and have a nice warm drink

  11. Rachael Sexey
    24/01/2018 / 06:47

    Nice warm bath with lavender oil and then story in bee 🤗

  12. jo liddement
    24/01/2018 / 11:44

    Quiet time before bed with a story.

  13. Laura Pritchard
    24/01/2018 / 20:46

    Book reading, cuddles & some silly bedtime rituals my kids insist on every night!

  14. Thomas Buchanan
    27/01/2018 / 20:12

    reading a book every night

  15. claire woods
    28/01/2018 / 19:29

    quiet, dark room, story time.

  16. Natalie Crossan
    29/01/2018 / 23:58

    Singing lullabies is a really good method xxxx

  17. Rich Tyler
    30/01/2018 / 15:52

    Bath, Story, Cuddles, Bed!

  18. Ruth Harwood
    31/01/2018 / 10:35

    We read a book and have a cuddle xx

  19. Tracy B
    31/01/2018 / 13:06

    I’ll be honest and say that I find bedtime really stressful. Cuddles and stories help, but my children always seem to be wide awake! I wish I had half their energy!

  20. Louise
    31/01/2018 / 13:39

    Bath and a good book

  21. Natalie Crossan
    05/02/2018 / 12:52

    A nice warm bubble bath xxx

  22. Laura Harrison
    06/02/2018 / 03:13

    My little boy has a relaxing bath, followed by warm milk, read a bedtime story then bed x

  23. Natalie Crossan
    10/02/2018 / 22:35

    A nice warm bath x

  24. Tracy B
    12/02/2018 / 17:00

    Got my fingers crossed for this one – lovely idea for a book

  25. astrid c
    15/02/2018 / 13:40

    story milk and cuddle

  26. rebecca Beesley
    15/02/2018 / 22:20

    try not to make it a rush and have a bedtime story

  27. Natalie Crossan
    17/02/2018 / 11:21

    We also like lullabies 🙂 xxx

  28. Jessica woods
    17/02/2018 / 20:16

    Warm bath cuddles and story x

  29. Natalie Crossan
    18/02/2018 / 06:01

    We also like warm milk and soft lighting 🙂 xx

  30. Simone Griffin
    18/02/2018 / 08:38

    We try and do bath and story x

  31. Charlene Merrall
    18/02/2018 / 21:17

    Normally just some quiet time, a story, get all snuggly!

  32. Angeline Gregory
    18/02/2018 / 21:43

    Dinner at 5pm. Bath at 6pm. Pyjamas, cuddles and a story and lights off at 7pm.

  33. ellie spider
    18/02/2018 / 23:14

    strict routine, bath, drink, story and bed

  34. astrid c
    19/02/2018 / 08:14

    cuddles and warm miilk

  35. Lisa Wilkinson
    19/02/2018 / 09:47

    We give our little girl a bath, then read a book in a dimmed room, then it’s a hug and good night. We did used to stay in until she was asleep but she is OK now that we leave her.

  36. Rachael Sexey
    19/02/2018 / 10:28

    We have a warm bath with calming music followed my snuggles and a story in bed 🙏

  37. Samantha Sugden
    19/02/2018 / 10:52

    READING A BOOK

  38. Maria Jane Knight
    19/02/2018 / 12:24

    To calm bedtime worries we tell each other 5 things that we have loved about our day!

  39. Carla Carthy
    19/02/2018 / 14:07

    we snuggle up and listen to Bonnie (Sleep Hypnosis for Children) its really good 🙂

  40. Allan Fullarton
    19/02/2018 / 17:17

    Great competition.

  41. Emily Hallett
    19/02/2018 / 17:59

    Keeping to a regular routine, even at the weekends.

  42. lisa smith
    19/02/2018 / 21:58

    Thanks for an amazing giveaway!

  43. Fiona jk42
    19/02/2018 / 23:34

    When I’m putting my granddaughter to bed we generally follow a set routine: bath, PJs, several books and then if she’s still awake we like to review what we did during the day (if we saw anything new or unusual, what the weather was like, what we ate, etc.) and what we will do the following day. If she’s had an extra exciting day, for example if we went to the zoo, we do a “walk through” of all the animals we saw, how many we saw, what they were doing, etc.

  44. Natalie Gillham
    20/02/2018 / 02:43

    I take the time to tuck them in, sometimes read to them and sit with them for a bit so they can chat to me about anything that might be on their mind.

  45. Sarah Parker
    20/02/2018 / 06:31

    by reading a story

  46. 20/02/2018 / 09:51

    When they were little it was bath then story, these days it’s no screen time for an hour before bed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *